Officially conferred. Officially a Doctor.

The day has actually, finally come. I got my final confirmation of award from College just over a week ago, but as conferrals only happen on the first of the month..today is the day I have official become a Doctor!

It’s been a busy few months, but also quite anti-climactic in some ways. The viva day really feels like the big one! People started calling me “Doctor” from when I passed my viva pending minor corrections. In fact, that’s how I was addressed when I was told about my corrections. Before viva day, I didn’t think I’d feel like a doctor until I had the official confirmation email (or even the certificate tbh..but that’s a while off yet!). But, you get through that viva and you really feel like you’ve done it.

Corrections were tough to have to face with that feeling, but needs must. I blitzed mine in about 3 days, after ignoring them for a week. I got my email with corrections about 30mins after my viva finished thanks to the organisation and promptness of my examiners. Then it was just waiting..it didn’t feel as nerve wrecking as submitting a journal article for revisions where you’re not sure if they’re going to get bounced back again or not?!

I felt pretty comfortable that when I’d done my corrections and my supervisor had checked them over I was going to be done, there was nothing contentious about the changes and I had addressed them all. There was a nice boost when the email came though from College to confirm everything had gone through and passed.

The weirdest thing is when I read an email someone wrote (copying me in) to share some research I was asking people to participate in and I was being referred to as “Dr Turner”. I had to double take, as I almost didn’t recognise myself. That’s pretty cool, not going to lie. Maybe that feeling will go in a while, but for now it’s nice to enjoy it. The best part was post my husband and I got from my mother-in-law, addressed to “Dr and Mr Turner”. That made my week, I tell you!

Today is the day I changed my Twitter name to “Dr Shruti Turner”, so now it must be official right?! It just didn’t feel right until now, maybe I didn’t feel like I’d earned it? Maybe it was just too new? I’ve had an up and down journey with my PhD, it took until about last week (and I think it’s still a work in progress) for me to be proud of the work I produced that ended up in my thesis and being the reason I was awarded my PhD. Don’t get me wrong, I’m really proud of myself for getting through my PhD with all the external factors and hurdles thrown in, but I haven’t really been proud about my work. I’m getting there. No examiners are going to give me a pity PhD right? Even if they’re super nice and supportive to your face.

But, this is it. I’ll no doubt have a post when I get to graduate with a picture in my gown bringing back all the memories and pride. But for now, this is it I think. Thanks for anyone who’s made it this far in the journey with me, whether that’s following the blog, helping with my research, supporting me personally or something else I haven’t mentioned. I’m so grateful. I’ll be leaving this blog up for anyone who may find it useful, and you’ll no doubt find me on Twitter if you ever want a chat!

Spotty envelop with white centre. Adressee: "Dr + Mr Turner" and the rest of the address blocked out with purple.
Post!

Leave a comment